top of page

MLC Election Result: Nine BJP candidates and four SP candidates won unopposed

All the candidates have been elected unopposed to 13 seats of the UP Legislative Council. Of these, nine are from the BJP and four from the SP.

image source:

New Delhi: Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, Panchayati Raj Minister Bhupendra Singh Choudhary and Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Cooperation, JPS Rathore, and four SP candidates, including former BJP minister Swami Prasad Maurya, were elected unopposed in the election of 13 seats in the Legislative Council.

In this election, 9 candidates of BJP and 4 candidates of SP had filed nominations. No one withdrew till the last day of withdrawal of nominations on Monday. After this, the Returning Officer Brij Bhushan Dubey announced the election of all unopposed.

BJP candidates were Keshav Prasad Maurya, Bhupendra Singh Choudhary, JPS Rathore, Minister of State for AYUSH (Independent Charge) Dayashankar Mishra Dayalu, Minister of State for Backward Classes Welfare (Independent Charge) Narendra Kashyap, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Jaswant Saini and Minister of State for Minority Welfare Danish Azad Ansari.

Chairman Mukesh Sharma and former MLA of Kannauj Sadar, Banwarilal Dohre, handed over the certificate of membership of the council. Along with this, certificates of election were also handed over to SP candidates Swami Prasad Maurya, Mukul Yadav, Jasmir Ansari of Sitapur and Shahnawaz Khan of Saharanpur.


bottom of page