top of page

PT Usha and South Cinema veteran Ilaiyaraaja nominated for Rajya Sabha

Four personalities were nominated as members of Rajya Sabha. These include athletes PT Usha, singers Ilaiyaraaja, Virendra Hegde and V. Vijayendra Prasad Garu.

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind has nominated former athlete PT Usha, music composer Ilaiyaraaja, Dharmasthala temple philanthropist Virendra Hegde and Indian screenwriter and film director V. Vijayendra Prasad to the Rajya Sabha. Prime Minister Narendra Modi gave this information by tweeting and appreciating everyone's contribution. Also congratulated the four celebrities in separate tweets.

Tagging former athlete PT Usha, the Prime Minister tweeted that PT Usha is an inspiration to every Indian. His achievements in sports are widely known. His work in guiding budding athletes over the years is equally commendable. Congratulations on being nominated to the Rajya Sabha.

The PM expressed happiness over the nomination of noted musician Ilaiyaraaja to the Rajya Sabha. He said that Ilaiyaraaja's creative brilliance has mesmerized people from generation to generation. His works beautifully depict many emotions. His life journey is equally inspiring – he rose from a humble background and achieved a lot. Glad that he has been nominated to Rajya Sabha.

On the nomination of Virendra Hegde, Dharmasthala Temple's Dharmadhikari and social worker to the Rajya Sabha, PM Modi said that Virendra Hegde is at the forefront of excellent social service. I have had the opportunity to pray at the Dharmasthala temple and witness the great work he is doing in the fields of health, education and culture. He will certainly enrich parliamentary proceedings.

The Prime Minister congratulated Indian screenwriter and film director V. Vijayendra Prasad on being nominated to the Rajya Sabha. He said, 'V. Vijayendra Prasad has been associated with the creative world for decades. His works reflect the glorious culture of India and have made their mark on the world stage. Congratulations on being nominated to the Rajya Sabha.


bottom of page