top of page

Allegations against Brijbhushan Sharan Singh will be investigated, IOA forms seven-member committee

Probe Committee Against WFI Chief: The Indian Olympic Association has constituted an inquiry committee to investigate the allegations against Brijbhushan Sharan Singh, President of the Wrestling Federation of India.

New Delhi: The allegations of sexual exploitation against Indian Wrestling Federation President Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh will now be investigated. For this, a seven-member committee has been constituted. This committee has been formed by the Indian Olympic Association. Members of the committee include Mary Kom, Yogeshwar Dutt, Dola Banerjee, Alaknanda Ashok, Sahdev Yadav and two lawyers.

Earlier, the wrestlers had approached the Indian Olympic Association against Brijbhushan Sharan Singh. Bajrang Punia, Vinesh Phogat, Sakshi Malik, Ravi Dahiya and Deepak Punia had sent a written complaint to IOA President PT Usha. In the complaint, the wrestlers accused WFI President Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh of sexual harassment and financial irregularities. Along with this, there was a demand to sack the WFI president and to set up a committee to investigate the allegations of sexual abuse.

What did the wrestlers write in the letter?

The players had said in their complaint letter that Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh had mentally tortured the players. Wrestlers are not even given sponsorship money and coaches do not select players on the basis of merit. The wrestlers had demanded from PT Usha that the resignation of Brijbhushan Sharan Singh should be taken and a committee should be formed as soon as possible to investigate the matter.

Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh refuses to resign

At the same time, Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh has refused to resign. He even said that the question of resignation does not arise. Singh said, "At least 300 players from Haryana have arrived. Take their statement as well." With this, he had said to hold a press conference today at 4 pm, but he did not hold this press conference.

bottom of page