top of page

Delhi mayor election postponed again, a fierce ruckus between AAP and BJP councillors

AAP has fielded Shelly Oberoi and BJP's Rekha Gupta for the mayor's post, while AAP's Aale Mohammad Iqbal and BJP's Kamal Bagri are in the fray for the deputy mayor's post.

New Delhi: Mayor's election in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi has been postponed again. There was a lot of uproar during the proceedings in the MCD House today, due to which the proceedings of the House have been adjourned for the next date. During the proceedings, there was fierce debate and scuffle between the BJP and AAP councillors. The mayor's election has been postponed till the next date to avoid any untoward situation.

Democratic principles should be followed - Meenakshi Lekhi

After the voting was adjourned, BJP MP and Union Minister Meenakshi Lekhi said, "We were sitting in the House from 11 am to vote and finally when the time came, there was an uproar in the House. This is wrong, following democratic principles." should be done."

Mayoral candidate, Shelly Vs Rekha

Shelly Oberoi of AAP

Rekha Gupta of BJP

Candidate for deputy mayor

Mohammad Iqbal of AAP

Kamal Bagri of BJP

Who will vote in the mayoral election?

  • Apart from 250 corporators, 14 MLAs of the Delhi Legislative Assembly are also nominated to vote in the election of the Mayor.

  • For this, the assembly speaker has nominated 13 MLAs from Aam Aadmi Party and one MLA from BJP.

  • All 7 Lok Sabha MPs of BJP from Delhi and all 3 Rajya Sabha MPs of Aam Aadmi Party will also vote.

  • That is, there will be a total of 274 members in the electoral college for the election of the Mayor.


bottom of page