top of page

India-Pakistan clash in ICC T20 World Cup fixed, included in same group

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the group of the T20 World Cup on Friday. India and Pakistan are in the same group. Meaning the conflict between the two is sure.

New Delhi : The India-Pakistan clash in the ICC T20 World Cup is certain to happen as both arch-rivals have been included in the same group, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Friday. The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 has been shifted to UAE and Oman. The Board of Control for Cricket in India is the host and it will be organized in Oman and UAE.

Qualifiers clash in Round-1

Round 1 will have eight teams including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. These teams will play against the six teams that have made it to the tournament through qualifying events. Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia will be in Group A along with Sri Lanka while Oman, PNG, Scotland and Bangladesh will be in Group B. The defending champions in Group 1 in Super-12 are West Indies, 2010 champions England, Australia and South Africa.

This will happen super-12

Apart from these, the other two teams qualifying from Round-1 will also join this group. Group 2 will have 2007 champions India, 2009 winners Pakistan, Afghanistan, New Zealand and the other two teams qualifying from Round 1. The top two teams from both the groups will advance to the Super-12 stage. The two teams will be selected on the basis of team rankings as of 20 March 2021.

India vs Pakistan Record

India has a 5-0 record against Pakistan in all the T20 World Cup seasons. With India and Pakistan in the same group, the two countries will once again see fierce competition in the ICC tournament. ICC Acting CEO Geoff Erladis said, "It is a pleasure to announce the group for the Men's T20 World Cup. During this, many interesting matches will be seen.' The schedule of the tournament will be announced later.

The matches will be played on 4 grounds in UAE and Oman.

The tournament will be played from October 17 to November 14. This tournament was initially to be played in India but it was decided to postpone it due to the second wave of Covid-19 (COVID-19 Pandemic) in India. However, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will be its host. It will be held at four grounds – Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Sharjah Stadium and Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

8 Qualifying teams will participate in the First Round

Eight qualifying teams will participate in the first round of the tournament which will be played in Oman and UAE. Four of these teams will advance to the Super 12 round where there will be eight qualifiers. The upcoming tournament will be the first T20 World Cup since 2016. The last time the West Indies won the title by defeating England. The eight teams in the preliminary round include Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Ireland, Scotland, Namibia, Oman and Papua New Guinea.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup group announcement

Round 1
Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia
Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea (PNG) and Oman.
Group 1 - England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner of  Group A, Group B runner-up
Group 2 - India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan,  Winner of Group B, Group A runner-up 


bottom of page